Psalm 2

Why do the nations rage
and the peoples plot in vain?
The kings of the earth set themselves,
and the rulers take counsel together,
against the Lord and his Anointed, saying,
“Let us burst their bonds apart
and cast away their cords from us.”

He who sits in the heavens laughs;
the Lord holds them in derision.
Then he will speak to them in his wrath,
and terrify them in his fury, saying,
“As for me, I have set my King
on Zion, my holy hill.”

I will tell of the decree:
The Lord said to me, “You are my Son;
today I have begotten you.
Ask of me, and I will make the nations your heritage,
and the ends of the earth your possession.
You shall break them with a rod of iron
and dash them in pieces like a potter’s vessel.”

Now therefore, O kings, be wise;
be warned, O rulers of the earth.
Serve the Lord with fear,
and rejoice with trembling.

Kiss the Son,
lest he be angry, and you perish in the way,
for his wrath is quickly kindled.
Blessed are all who take refuge in him.

(Psalm 2)

Why do the nations rage
and the peoples plot in vain?

Toil, effort and guile – the things by which I believe I can control my circumstances. My destiny. Even others. At times it seems as if I’m no different from the world around me – a world which fights for control of its circumstances, its destiny, its people. You, oh Lord, know the seasons of man. You know the purposes of God – and how foolish is it of me to join the chorus of the world in singing the pains and plans of my own will – a will which may or may not be consistent with your own. May my will be in line with Your own, because Your will is my peace.

The kings of the earth set themselves,
and the rulers take counsel together,
against the Lord and his Anointed, saying,
“Let us burst their bonds apart
and cast away their cords from us.”

For generations, You have given our world messengers. You even gave us Your Son. Even so, those whom we appoint to lead us continually set us against you. By their own collective counsel and wisdom they seek to trivialize and even remove You from our hearts and minds. They influence & deceive, manipulate and mislead, and as a result our souls live in anguish. How will we escape such perpetual puppeteering? How can we ever hope to walk, stand, and sit in Your goodness when all around us is set against You?

He who sits in the heavens laughs;
the Lord holds them in derision.

As I toil, struggle and worry about those more powerful than I – those who seem to threaten You and Your purposes, You remain unfazed. So strong is Your will that You don’t even move. All you do is laugh, enjoying the amusement of those so ignorant as to think there is anything they can do to thwart Your will. As I become increasingly discontent with the ways of those Who are against You, may I see in my mind the picture of You laughing. You unfazed and unmoved, not in any way concerned for what transpires below. May my focus be ever, only and always on You – not on the wind and waves that are stirred up on the periphery of my life and world – and may my focus result in my arriving in Your presence, not just in eternity, but in Your presence today.

Then he will speak to them in his wrath,
and terrify them in his fury, saying,
“As for me, I have set my King
on Zion, my holy hill.”

The power to get the attention of Your enemies rests with You, God. It rests with Your spoken Word. With the fury that every human heart is wired to respect. My efforts, as much as You may end up using them, are empty and powerless without Your holy anointing. Teach me to put little stock in the efforts I give, and much stock in the work You’ve already done. May my heart be set upon looking to, proclaiming, and worshipping the King You’ve set above my world and in my soul. He is the High King of all – and even if others recognize this not – I do.

I will tell of the decree:
The Lord said to me, “You are my Son;
today I have begotten you.
Ask of me, and I will make the nations your heritage,
and the ends of the earth your possession.
You shall break them with a rod of iron
and dash them in pieces like a potter’s vessel.”

The nations belong to you, Jesus. Every tribe, tongue and language. Every continent, every island, and every soul stranded on the open sea belongs to You. They are the inheritance of You, the Son. They are Your heritage – people who are worth much to You. People You love. People You desire. Even so, we as a people are those who will never experience the fullness of Who You are until we are broken and dashed to pieces. My prayer for my world is my prayer for my own heart. May both be broken until they see their need for You. May both come to such utter ruin that there is no possibility for natural repair. May the walls we erect around the deepest places of our hearts be shattered by Your affection for us, and may we respond by redirecting all of our affection to You and You alone. We are Your heritage, but we need to be redeemed. And for us to be redeemed, we must be broken – broken so that we can be completely and supernaturally reconstructed. As You rule over us, may we be familiar with the brokenness that You’ve redeemed in us, and may we be ever mindful of those who have yet to experience such terrible, horrible and wonderful blessing.

Now therefore, O kings, be wise;
be warned, O rulers of the earth.
Serve the Lord with fear,
and rejoice with trembling.

Your call on every leader is to be wise, to serve, and to rejoice. May I heed Your warning, oh God. And may my life be such that the leaders You’ve placed over me would see and submit to the God I know and love. To be in fear of You is not the negative that some would suppose. To know and love a God who is terribly powerful is an incommensurable comfort. The fact that You could destroy me with a single thought is not something that repels me, but something that attracts me. I’m not interested in a weak God of my own creation and making, but a God Who is real – a real God. The real God whose power in infinite and makes me tremble. It makes sense that I should fear You and tremble when at Your warnings. However, I also know Your character, Your love and Your commitment to me and to those around me. My desire is to serve You – Whoever, Wherever, and However You are.

Kiss the Son,
lest he be angry, and you perish in the way,
for his wrath is quickly kindled.
Blessed are all who take refuge in him.

My kiss, my affection, may it be for You, Jesus. Whatever anger or wrath You may choose to make known is justified – I only ask that through your love and work on the Cross that I be shielded from such. May I take refuge from You, in You – and may my blessing be great. And from those whose collective counsel would set my world against you – may I take refuge from them in you as well. May You be my Shield, my Hiding Place, my High Protector. May the great goal of my life – blessing – be made reality due to my being found beneath the shadow of Your protecting wing, and may I soar in Your presence, being given the privilege of viewing a world that You continue to redeem and draw nearer to Yourself. The prospect of such beauty gives my soul the inspiration to live a thousand lifetimes in your presence. But in this world, I’ll be happy with, and more than grateful for, just one. As it is in heaven, so let it be on earth, and in my heart and life, in Jesus’ Name. Amen.

